Subscribe

First Name:
* Email Address:
Company:
* Preferred Format:
* Security code:


Asian Domain Name Scam



We've been getting LOTS of enquiries about this email scam, so have decided to upload an article about it.

Misleading unsolicited emails from Asian domain name companies

At least two companies apparently based in China and Hong Kong have been sending unsolicited emails to people with .au domain names, attempting to mislead them into registering their name in a number of Asian domain spaces.

Examples include:

We are a domain name registration service company in Asia,

Last week we received a formal application submited by Yadu Investment Co Ltd which wanted to use the keyword “***” to register the Internet Brand and with suffix such as .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/ .asia/ domain names.

After our initial examination, we found that these domain names to be applied for registration are same as your domain name and trademark. We aren’t sure whether you have any relation with this company. Because these domain names would produce possible dispute, now we have hold down this registration, but if we do not get your company’s an reply in the next 5 working days, we will approve this company’s application

In order to handle this issue better, Please contact us by Fax ,Telephone or Email as soon as possible.

and

We are a professional domain name registration center in asia, mainly dealing with the domain name registration and internet intellectual property rights protection.

We received a formal application from a company who is applying to register “***” as their domain name and Internet keyword on Apr 2th, 2009. Because this involves your company name or trade mark so we inform you in no time. we would like to confirm if this company is your partner, subsection or some one you authorized, if it is not, pls inform us if these domain names and internet keyword are important to you and it is necessary to protect them by registering them first or not, thanks for your cooperation, looking forward to your reply.

The Australian Domain Name Administration (auDA) does not have jurisdiction to handle complaints about these emails, as they do not involve the registration of .au domain names. However, we understand that authorities in Hong Kong are investigating at least one of the companies sending these emails.

In our view the claims made in these emails are false and misleading, and we advise people to disregard them.


Resource Box

Comments (4)

Said this on 16/12/2009 At 11:30 am

They are still active…

Just got one today:

Dear CEO/Manager,

We are a domain name registration center in HongKong, mainly dealing with domain name registration and internet intellectual property rights protection. On Aug 20, 2009 we received a formal application from a company who is applying to register several domains, using \"asuta\" as the internet keyword. After investigation, we find that you are the original user of the keyword. Such similar domain cases may involve your company name or trade mark, and may cause website confusion and conflicts. For a responsible attitude, we inform you here and your opinion, in order to deal with this issue better, please contact us by email or telephone ASAP.

Looking forward to your reply.

Kind Regards,

Faithe

Phone: +XXX-XXXXXXXX (XXXX)
Fax: +XXX-XXXXXXXX
Email:
Website:

Confidentiality Statement:
The information in this email is confidential and may be legally privileged. It is intended solely for the addressee. Access to this email by anyone else is unauthorized. If you are not an intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution, or other action taken or omitted to be taken in reliance on it, is prohibited and may be unlawful. If you have received this message in error please be advised of your obligation to immediately notify sender of the error in transmission, and to destroy all associated documentation.

After I told the to go f**k themselves they got angry and responded:

我操你大爷,你个杂碎,OK?你他妈的就是一个贱人,去死吧,狗日的东西,你鼻子里面插根葱就想冲大象啊?你个傻B OK?
Google translation:

I speak of your uncle, you are a chop suey, OK? Hell you are a slut, Death, dogs on the East and West, inserted inside the root of your nose red onion want the elephant ah? You are a silly B OK?

Said this on 15/03/2010 At 02:37 pm

I just got the same email scam and I decided to email the company to see what the prices would be.  I wrote an article on this on my blog.

http://eggzap.com/domain-names/china-and-asia-domain-scam/

 

I am gonna add a link to this article at the bottom of my post.  hopefully it will be useful to some coder who is writing code to classify spam.

 

 

Fiona
Said this on 01/10/2010 At 09:59 am

They are DEFINATELY still active! And utilising the same ploy as posted above.

Said this on 27/03/2011 At 01:08 pm

    ~~~~~~~~MORE SCAMS~~~~~~~~~~~   

Dear Manager:

    This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally in China and Asia.
    On March 24th 2011. We received HAITONG  company's application, they want to register " laptopbackpacksandbags" as its Internet keyword and CN/Asia domain names. It is china and Asia domain names. But after checking we find this domain name conflict with your company, in order to deal with this matter better, so we send you email, and want to confirm whether this company is your distributor or business partner in China?

    I'm looking forward to hearing from you!

Best Regards,

    John
    Oversea marketing manager
    Office: +86(0)21 6191 8696
    Mobile: +86 1366152 9704
    Fax: +86(0)21 6191 8697
    web: www.ygnetworkltd.com

Post a Comment

SPAMMERS PLEASE NOTE:
Any spam tests or posts will not be approved. So don't even bother.

* Your Name:
(Please do NOT use keywords as your name)
* Your Email:
(not publicly displayed)
Reply Notification:
Approval Notification:
Website:
* Security Image:
Security Image Generate new
Copy the numbers and letters from the security image:
* Message: